Wales Map with 22 Council Areas


The Wales Map Template includes two slides. Wales map with 22 council areas, labeling with major council areas, Cardiff, Swansea, Rhondda Cynon Taf, and Carmarthenshire. Wales outline map labeling with country capital and major cities, Cardiff, Swansea, Newport, Wrexham, and Barry.

Location Wales is located in the west of the United Kingdom, sharing a border with England to the east and surrounded by the Irish Sea to the north and west and the Bristol Channel to the south.

Population With a population of around 3.1 million people, Wales is known for its distinct cultural identity, Welsh language, and Celtic heritage. The population is concentrated in urban areas such as Cardiff, Swansea, and Newport, with a significant rural population as well.

Economy Wales has a diverse economy, historically rooted in mining and heavy industry, but now encompassing sectors such as advanced manufacturing, technology, life sciences, and tourism. The country has seen significant economic development and investment in recent years.

Slide 1, Wales map labeled with capital and major cities.

Its capital and largest city is Cardiff, other major cities including Swansea, Newport, Wrexham, and Barry.

Capital and Major Cities on UK Wales map

Cardiff As the capital and largest city of Wales, Cardiff is a vibrant urban center with a rich history and modern amenities. It is home to iconic landmarks such as Cardiff Castle, the Principality Stadium, and the Wales Millennium Centre. The city boasts a thriving cultural scene, with numerous museums, galleries, and theaters. Additionally, Cardiff is a hub for higher education, commerce, and sports, making it a dynamic and cosmopolitan destination.

Wales map

Swansea Situated on the coast, Swansea is Wales’s second-largest city and a gateway to the Gower Peninsula, the UK’s first designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The city is known for its maritime heritage, beautiful beaches, and lively waterfront. It is also a center for arts and culture, with the National Waterfront Museum and the annual Swansea Festival of Music and Arts attracting visitors from far and wide.

Newport Newport, located on the River Usk, is a city with a rich industrial past and a rapidly evolving present. The city’s regeneration efforts have revitalized its waterfront and urban spaces, making it an increasingly attractive destination for shopping, dining, and entertainment. Notable attractions include the Newport Transporter Bridge and the Newport Museum and Art Gallery.

Wrexham Wrexham, situated in the north of Wales, is a historic market town with a strong sense of community and a thriving arts and music scene. The town’s traditional market, St. Giles’ Church, and the nearby Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, are among its highlights. Wrexham also serves as a commercial and retail center for the surrounding area.

Barry Barry, located in the Vale of Glamorgan, is a coastal town celebrated for its beaches, Victorian architecture, and connections to the popular TV series “Gavin & Stacey.” The town’s waterfront, Barry Island, is a beloved seaside resort that attracts tourists and locals alike, especially during the summer months. Barry’s vibrant atmosphere and leisure opportunities make it a favored destination for day trips from Cardiff and beyond.

Slide 2, Wales map labeled with major administration districts.

Wales map shows the country divided into 22 single-tier council areas, they are Blaenau Gwent, Bridgend, Caerphilly, Cardiff, Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion, Conwy, Denbighshire, Flintshire, Gwynedd, Isle of Anglesey, Merthyr Tydfil, Monmouthshire, Neath Port Talbot, Newport, Pembrokeshire, Powys, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Swansea, Torfaen, Vale of Glamorgan, and Wrexham. Every individual political subdivision is an editable shape.

Major Council Areas

Cardiff As the capital city, Cardiff is the largest and most influential council area in Wales. It encompasses a diverse range of neighborhoods and communities, from the bustling city center to suburban and rural areas. Cardiff’s council area is a focal point for governance, culture, and economic activity, driving innovation and development within the region.

Wales map

Swansea The Swansea council area encompasses the city of Swansea and its surrounding towns and villages. It is characterized by its coastal landscapes, industrial heritage, and commitment to sustainability and environmental conservation. The council area’s diverse offerings, including urban amenities and natural beauty, make it a desirable place to live, work, and visit.

Rhondda Cynon Taf Rhondda Cynon Taf is a council area known for its scenic valleys, historic mining communities, and cultural vibrancy. The area is a gateway to the Brecon Beacons National Park and offers a mix of urban and rural living. Rhondda Cynon Taf’s commitment to preserving its heritage and promoting community engagement contributes to its distinctive character.

Carmarthenshire Carmarthenshire, located in southwest Wales, is a council area renowned for its picturesque countryside, historic market towns, and proximity to the coast. The area’s rich cultural traditions, including the Welsh language and folk festivals, add to its appeal. Carmarthenshire’s emphasis on sustainable tourism, agriculture, and rural development underscores its commitment to preserving its natural and cultural assets.

In summary, the capital of Cardiff and major cities of Swansea, Newport, Wrexham, and Barry each offer unique cultural, historical, and natural attractions that contribute to the diverse tapestry of Wales. Likewise, the major council areas of Cardiff, Swansea, Rhondda Cynon Taf, and Carmarthenshire showcase the country’s rich heritage, stunning landscapes, and economic significance, providing a wealth of experiences for visitors and residents alike.

Looking for Premium maps, please visit our affiliate site: or

Size: 268K
Type: PPTX

Aspect Ratio: Standard 4:3
Click the blue button to download it.
Download the 4:3 Template
Aspect Ratio: Widescreen 16:9
Click the green button to download it.
Download the 16:9 Template