Free Netherlands Map with 12 Provinces


The Netherlands Map Template includes two slides. Netherlands map with 12 provinces, highlighting Gelderland, North Brabant, North Holland, and South Holland provinces. Netherlands map labeled with Amsterdam, Rotterdam, The Hague, Utrecht, Eindhoven, and Groningen cities.

The Netherlands, a country in Northwestern Europe, is known for its flat landscape, extensive canal systems, tulip fields, windmills, and cycling routes. Its geographical coordinates are approximately 52°N latitude and 5°E longitude.

The country shares its borders with Germany to the east, Belgium to the south, and is bounded by the North Sea to the northwest, providing it with a significant coastline. The Netherlands’ unique location contributes to its rich maritime history and cultural heritage. Its proximity to major European countries has made it a pivotal hub for trade, transport, and cultural exchange in the region.

Slide 1, Netherlands map labeled with capital and major cities.

The Netherlands, with its rich history, vibrant culture, and innovative approach towards sustainability and technology, is more than just its picturesque landscapes. Its major cities and provinces each offer a unique slice of Dutch life, from bustling urban centers to serene countryside. Its capital and largest city is Amsterdam, other major cities including Rotterdam, The Hague, Utrecht, Eindhoven, and Groningen. Here’s an exploration of the country’s major cities and provinces.

Major Cities on Netherlands map

Amsterdam The capital city, Amsterdam, is renowned for its artistic heritage, elaborate canal system, and narrow houses with gabled facades. It’s the cultural heart of the Netherlands, home to the Van Gogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum, and the house where Jewish diarist Anne Frank hid during WWII. Amsterdam’s open-minded character and vibrant nightlife make it a popular international tourist destination.

Rotterdam Known for its modern architecture and bustling port – the largest in Europe, Rotterdam is a city that constantly reinvents itself. The Cube Houses, Erasmus Bridge, and the recently opened Depot Boijmans Van Beuningen showcase its innovative spirit. Rotterdam is a dynamic hub for creative industries, education, and trade.

Netherlands map

The Hague The Hague serves as the seat of the Dutch government and the Royal Family, as well as the International Court of Justice and the International Criminal Court. It combines international diplomatic flair with Dutch traditions. The city is also known for its seaside atmosphere, especially in the district of Scheveningen.

Utrecht Utrecht, with its medieval old town, canals, Christian monuments, and the iconic Dom Tower, is a historical and cultural gem. The city is a vibrant, youthful place, home to a large student population and is known for its contributions to the arts and sciences.

Eindhoven Eindhoven, often referred to as the technology and design hub of the Netherlands, owes much of its growth to the electronics company Philips. Today, it’s known for the Dutch Design Week and the High Tech Campus Eindhoven. The city embodies innovation and creativity.

Groningen Groningen is a lively university city with a strong emphasis on culture and nightlife. Its relatively young population drives the city’s energetic atmosphere. Groningen is also known for the Groninger Museum, which features modern and contemporary art, design, and local history.

Slide 2, Netherlands map labeled with major provinces.

Netherlands map shows the country composed of twelve provinces, Drenthe, Flevoland, Friesland, Gelderland, Groningen, Limburg, North Brabant, North Holland, Overijssel, South Holland, Utrecht, and Zeeland. Every individual political subdivision is an editable shape. The most populated provinces are Gelderland, North Brabant, South Holland and North Holland.

Major Provinces on Netherlands map

Gelderland Gelderland, the largest province in the Netherlands, offers a mix of natural beauty, history, and culture. It’s home to the Hoge Veluwe National Park, the Kröller-Müller Museum, and historical cities like Arnhem and Nijmegen. The province is known for its forests, rivers, and outdoor activities.

North Brabant North Brabant is characterized by its vibrant cultural life, with a strong tradition in art, music, and gastronomy. The province is the birthplace of Vincent van Gogh, and cities like ‘s-Hertogenbosch and Breda are rich in history and brimming with creativity.

Netherlands map

North Holland North Holland is home to Amsterdam, but there’s more to the province than the capital. It includes the Zaanse Schans with its well-preserved historic windmills and houses, the beach towns of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal, and the cheese market of Alkmaar. It’s a blend of urban sophistication and traditional Dutch landscapes.

South Holland South Holland is the most populous province, with The Hague and Rotterdam as its main cities. It’s an economic powerhouse, thanks to the Port of Rotterdam and the greenhouses of the Westland. The province also boasts the historic city of Delft and the Keukenhof, one of the world’s largest flower gardens.

Please check our premium maps in

Size: 118K
Type: PPTX

Aspect Ratio: Standard 4:3
Click the blue button to download it.
Download the 4:3 Template
Aspect Ratio: Widescreen 16:9
Click the green button to download it.
Download the 16:9 Template