Paraguay Map with 17 Departments and One District


The Paraguay Map Template includes two slides. Paraguay map with seventeen departments and one capital district (distrito capital), labeling with major departments, Central, Alto Paraná, Distrito Capital, and Itapúa. Paraguay map labeling with national capital and major cities, Asunción, Ciudad del Este, Encarnación, Pedro Juan Caballero, and Coronel Oviedo.

Paraguay, located in the heart of South America, is landlocked, bordered by Argentina to the south and southwest, Brazil to the east and northeast, and Bolivia to the northwest. With a population of approximately 7.5 million people, it is known for its multicultural society, with a blend of indigenous and European influences.

Paraguay’s economy is primarily based on agriculture, with a focus on soybeans, livestock, and agriculture-related industries. Additionally, the country has a growing industrial sector, with the production of textiles, sugar, cement, and beverages contributing to its economic growth. The hydroelectric power generated from the Itaipu Dam also plays a significant role in Paraguay’s economy.

Slide 1, Paraguay map labeled with capital and major cities.

Paraguay is a landlocked country in South America. Its population is 7.2 million people. You can find the 3 neighboring countries along with this country in the South America continent, which are Argentina Bolivia and Brazil. Its capital and largest city is Asunción, other major cities including Ciudad del Este, Encarnación, Pedro Juan Caballero, and Coronel Oviedo.

Capital and Major Cities on Paraguay map

Asunción, the capital and largest city of Paraguay, is located on the eastern bank of the Paraguay River. With a population of over 500,000, it serves as the country’s political, cultural, and economic center, housing important government institutions, historical landmarks, and vibrant commercial activities.

Paraguay map

Ciudad del Este
Ciudad del Este, situated in the Alto Paraná Department, is a significant city known for its strategic location as a major commercial and trading hub. It is renowned for its bustling markets, duty-free shopping, and cross-border trade with Brazil.

Encarnación, located in the Itapúa Department, is a key city known for its cultural vibrancy, historical significance, and economic activities, particularly in commerce and tourism.

Pedro Juan Caballero
Pedro Juan Caballero, in the Amambay Department, is an important city characterized by its proximity to the Brazil border and its role in cross-border trade, contributing to the region’s economic development.

Coronel Oviedo
Coronel Oviedo, situated in the Caaguazú Department, is a significant city known for its agricultural activities, commercial centers, and cultural heritage, playing a vital role in the department’s economic and social landscape.

Slide 2, Paraguay map labeled with major administration districts.

Paraguay is a country composed of seventeen departments and one capital district (distrito capital): Alto Paraguay, Alto Paraná, Amambay, Boquerón, Caaguazú, Caazapá, Canindeyú, Central, Concepción, Cordillera, Guairá, Itapúa, Misiones, Ñeembucú, Paraguarí, Presidente Hayes, San Pedro and Capital district – (Asunción). Every individual political subdivision is an editable shape.

Major Departments on Paraguay map

The Central Department, with cities like Luque, Capiatá, and Fernando de la Mora, is a crucial area known for its urban and industrial development, contributing significantly to Paraguay’s economy and commercial activities.

Paraguay map

Alto Paraná
The Alto Paraná Department, with Ciudad del Este and Hernandarias, is a major commercial and trading region, known for its cross-border trade, duty-free shopping, and economic significance in the eastern part of the country.

Distrito Capital
The Distrito Capital, encompassing Asunción, serves as the political and administrative center of Paraguay, housing key government institutions, cultural landmarks, and commercial activities.

The Itapúa Department, with Encarnación as a major city, is a significant area known for its cultural heritage, historical sites, and economic contributions, particularly in commerce and tourism.

Looking for Premium maps, please visit our affiliate site: or

Size: 125K
Type: PPTX

Aspect Ratio: Standard 4:3
Click the blue button to download it.
Download the 4:3 Template
Aspect Ratio: Widescreen 16:9
Click the green button to download it.
Download the 16:9 Template