Guatemala Map with 22 Departments


The Guatemala Map Template includes two slides. Guatemala map with 22 departments, labeling with major Departments, Guatemala, Huehuetenango, Alta Verapaz, and San Marcos. Guatemala map labeling with national capital and major cities, Guatemala City, Huehuetenango, Cobán, San Marcos, Santa Cruz del Quiché, and Quetzaltenango.

Guatemala is located in Central America, bordered by Mexico to the north and west, Belize to the northeast, Honduras to the east, and El Salvador to the southeast. It boasts a diverse landscape that includes lush rainforests, Mayan ruins, and volcanic mountains.

Population With a population of over 17 million people, Guatemala is the most populous country in Central America. The majority of the population is of mixed indigenous and European descent, with a significant indigenous Mayan population.

Economy Guatemala has a mixed economy with agriculture, manufacturing, and services sectors. It is the largest economy in Central America and has a strong agricultural base, producing coffee, sugar, bananas, and vegetables for export. Additionally, the country has a growing textiles and apparel industry, as well as a burgeoning tourism sector fueled by its rich cultural heritage and natural beauty.

Slide 1, Guatemala map labeled with capital and major cities.

The capital is Guatemala City, other major cities including Huehuetenango, Cobán, San Marcos, Santa Cruz del Quiché, and Quetzaltenango.

Guatemala’s Capital and Major Cities on Guatemala map

Guatemala City As the capital and largest city of Guatemala, Guatemala City is a bustling metropolis that serves as the country’s political, economic, and cultural center. It is located in the south-central region of the country and is known for its vibrant arts scene, historical landmarks, and diverse culinary offerings. The city also houses the National Palace of Culture, which is a prominent symbol of the country’s rich heritage.

Guatemala map

Huehuetenango Situated in the western highlands of Guatemala, Huehuetenango is known for its stunning natural beauty and indigenous culture. The city is a hub for coffee production and trade, with its surrounding region being a major coffee-growing area. Additionally, its proximity to the Mexican border contributes to its significance as a commercial center.

Cobán Cobán, the capital of Alta Verapaz Department, is celebrated for its lush landscapes and temperate climate. It serves as a gateway to the natural wonders of the surrounding region, including the renowned Semuc Champey natural pools and the limestone caves of Lanquín. The city is also known for its vibrant traditional Mayan culture and the lively Rabin Ajau festival.

San Marcos San Marcos is a picturesque city located in the western highlands of Guatemala. It is renowned for its stunning vistas of the nearby volcanoes and its tranquil atmosphere. The city’s economy is primarily based on agriculture, particularly the cultivation of fruits, vegetables, and coffee. San Marcos also boasts a rich indigenous heritage, which is reflected in its traditional textiles and cultural practices.

Santa Cruz del Quiché Santa Cruz del Quiché, the capital of Quiché Department, is steeped in Mayan history and is home to significant archaeological sites such as the K’umarcaaj ruins. The city’s vibrant indigenous culture, marked by colorful textiles and traditional ceremonies, contributes to its allure. Santa Cruz del Quiché also serves as a center for trade and commerce in the region.

Quetzaltenango Commonly referred to as Xela, Quetzaltenango is the second-largest city in Guatemala and is renowned for its colonial architecture and indigenous traditions. The city is a hub for education and the arts, with numerous museums, galleries, and language schools. Quetzaltenango is also a focal point for commerce and serves as a gateway to the western highlands’ natural attractions.

Slide 2, Guatemala map labeled with major administration districts.

Guatemala is a country divided into 22 departments; they are Alta Verapaz, Baja Verapaz, Chimaltenango, Chiquimula, Petén, El Progreso, El Quiché, Escuintla, Guatemala, Huehuetenango, Izabal, Jalapa, Jutiapa, Quetzaltenango, Retalhuleu, Sacatepéquez, San Marcos, Santa Rosa, Sololá, Suchitepéquez, Totonicapán, and Zacapa. The most populated departments are Alta Verapaz, Huehuetenango, Guatemala and San Marcos. Every individual political subdivision is an editable shape.

Major Departments on Guatemala map

Guatemala The Department of Guatemala, where the capital is located, is the country’s most populous department and a vital economic and cultural hub. It encompasses diverse landscapes, including the Pacific coast, volcanic mountains, and fertile valleys. The department is known for its agricultural output, industrial activity, and historical significance.

Guatemala map


Huehuetenango Huehuetenango Department is situated in the western highlands and is celebrated for its rugged terrain, indigenous communities, and coffee production. The department’s diverse topography ranges from high mountains to deep river valleys, offering breathtaking scenery and opportunities for eco-tourism.

Alta Verapaz Alta Verapaz Department is characterized by its lush forests, caves, and rivers, making it a haven for nature enthusiasts. The region is also recognized for its rich biodiversity and the resilience of its indigenous Q’eqchi’ and Poqomchi’ communities. Cobán, the department’s capital, is a focal point for cultural expression and agricultural trade.

San Marcos San Marcos Department, located in the western highlands, is known for its fertile soil, which supports the cultivation of a wide variety of crops, including coffee, cardamom, and avocados. The department’s natural beauty and indigenous heritage make it an attractive destination for those seeking to explore Guatemala’s traditional customs and picturesque landscapes.

Looking for Premium maps, please visit our affiliate site: or

Size: 115K
Type: PPTX

Aspect Ratio: Standard 4:3
Click the blue button to download it.
Download the 4:3 Template
Aspect Ratio: Widescreen 16:9
Click the green button to download it.
Download the 16:9 Template