Free Sri Lanka Map with 9 Provinces


The Sri Lanka Map Template includes two slides. Sri Lanka map with nine provinces, labeling with major provinces, Western, Central, Southern, and North Western. Sri Lanka map labeling with national capital and major cities, Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Jaffna and Trincomalee.

Sri Lanka, an island nation in the Indian Ocean, is a treasure trove of cultural heritage, scenic landscapes, and rich biodiversity. Its major cities and provinces each offer a unique glimpse into the country’s diverse tapestry of experiences, from ancient historical sites to bustling urban centers.

Slide 1, Sri Lanka Map map labeled with capital and major cities.

Sri Lanka is an island country in South Asia. You can find the 6 neighboring countries closest to this country in the Asian continent, which are Maldives, India, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Nepal, and Thailand. Colombo is both the nation’s capital and its largest city, other major cities including Kandy, Galle, Jaffna and Trincomalee.

Major Cities on Sri Lanka map


Colombo, the commercial capital and the largest city of Sri Lanka, is a vibrant metropolis that seamlessly blends the old with the new. From colonial buildings in Fort area to the modern skyline of the city, Colombo is a bustling hub of commerce, culture, and cuisine. It serves as the gateway to the rest of the country, with a mix of races, religions, and cultures coexisting in harmony.

Sri Lanka Map


Kandy, the cultural capital of Sri Lanka, is nestled amidst the hills in the Central Province. It is renowned for the Temple of the Tooth Relic, one of Buddhism’s most sacred sites. The city’s annual Esala Perahera festival attracts thousands of visitors and pilgrims. Kandy’s serene lake, colonial-era architecture, and surrounding tea plantations add to its charm.


Galle, in the Southern Province, is famous for its Dutch Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site that encapsulates the city’s rich colonial heritage. Its cobblestone streets lined with boutique shops, cafes, and art galleries offer a glimpse into Sri Lanka’s colonial past intertwined with local culture.


Jaffna, located in the northern tip of Sri Lanka, is a city with a distinct Tamil culture. Its beautiful Hindu temples, colonial forts, and vibrant local markets highlight the unique cultural and historical identity of the region. The Jaffna Peninsula, with its serene lagoons and palm-fringed islands, offers a peaceful retreat.


Trincomalee, on the northeastern coast, is famed for its natural harbor, one of the world’s finest. The city is a blend of beautiful beaches, historical sites like the Koneswaram Temple, and a diverse cultural tapestry. Its pristine beaches like Nilaveli and Uppuveli are popular for water sports and whale watching.

Slide 2, Sri Lanka Map labeled with major administration districts.

Sri Lanka is a country with nine provinces; they are Central, Eastern, North Central, Northern, North Western, Sabaragamuwa, Southern, Uva, and Western. The most populated provinces are Southern, Central, North Western and Western. The estimated population for this country was 21.5 million in 2020. Every individual political subdivision is an editable shape.

Major Provinces on Sri Lanka Map

Western Province

The Western Province, home to Colombo, is the most populous and economically developed part of Sri Lanka. It is the heart of the country’s business and entertainment, offering a lively urban experience alongside beaches and wetland parks.

Sri Lanka Map

Central Province

The Central Province is known for its tea plantations, misty mountains, and rich cultural heritage. Kandy, its cultural capital, along with the historic sites of Sigiriya and Dambulla, make it a key region for tourism.

Southern Province

The Southern Province is renowned for its golden beaches, surfing spots, and maritime heritage. Galle stands as its cultural heart, with a rich history and architectural beauty. The province is also known for whale watching and national parks.

North Western Province

The North Western Province is characterized by its coconut plantations, ancient sites, and Wilpattu National Park, the largest in Sri Lanka. It’s a region that combines natural beauty with cultural sites, offering a quieter slice of Sri Lankan life.

Sri Lanka’s capitals and provinces each tell a story of the island’s multifaceted identity, from its ancient cultural heritage to its natural wonders and vibrant urban life. A journey through these cities and regions offers a comprehensive experience of what Sri Lanka has to offer, making it a truly unforgettable destination.

Find out more about this country in offical Sri Lanka Tourism.

Size: 120K
Type: PPTX

Aspect Ratio: Standard 4:3
Click the blue button to download it.
Download the 4:3 Template
Aspect Ratio: Widescreen 16:9
Click the green button to download it.
Download the 16:9 Template