Devon England map


The Devon England map template in PowerPoint format includes 3 slides. Firstly, we have the Devon UK map template location within the England country Map. Secondly, it is Devon England map template with ceremonial boundary. Finally, is the Devon map with 8 Districts and 2 unitary authorities. As the same diagram PowerPoint template series, you can also find our map templates for United Kingdom, England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.

Devon, also historically known as Devonshire, is a ceremonial county located in South West England. It is bordered by the Bristol Channel to the north, Somerset and Dorset to the east, the English Channel to the south, and Cornwall to the west.

Devon’s varied geography includes Dartmoor and part of Exmoor, two upland moors which are the source of most of the county’s rivers, including the Taw, Dart, and Exe. The southeast coast is part of the Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site, and the county gives its name to the Devonian geologic period. Dartmoor and Exmoor have been designated national parks, and the county also contains five national landscapes

Slide 1, Devon England map Location

With an area of 2,590 square miles and a population of 1,194,166, the largest settlements in Devon are Plymouth, Exeter, Torquay, and Paignton. These are located along the south coast, which is the most populous part of the county, while Barnstaple and Tiverton are the largest towns in the north and center respectively.

Devon England map

Slide 2, Devon England map with ceremonial boundary

Devon’s total economic output in 2019 was over £26 billion, larger than that of Manchester or Edinburgh. The county’s economy is heavily influenced by its two main urban centers, Plymouth and Exeter. Historically, Devon has been disadvantaged economically due to the decline of core industries like fishing, mining, and farming, but it has now become significantly more diverse.

Devon England map

Slide 3, Devon UK map with subdivisions

Devon is divided into eight districts, each with its own unique character and attractions. These districts are:

  1. East Devon
  2. Exeter
  3. Mid Devon
  4. North Devon
  5. South Hams
  6. Teignbridge
  7. Torridge
  8. West Devon

Unitary Authorities

In addition to the eight districts, Devon is also home to two unitary authorities. These are:

  1. Plymouth
  2. Torbay

Devon UK map

Plymouth, a city with a rich maritime history, and Torbay, known for its stunning coastline and resort towns, have their own local governments and are independent of the Devon County Council. These unitary authorities contribute to the cultural, economic, and social tapestry of the county, adding further depth to Devon’s appeal.

The districts and unitary authorities collectively offer a wide range of experiences, from the bustling city life of Exeter to the tranquil beauty of Dartmoor National Park, making Devon a captivating destination for visitors and a cherished home for its residents.

Looking for Premium maps, please visit our affiliate site: or

Type: PPTX

Aspect Ratio: Standard 4:3
Click the blue button to download the maps.
Download the 4:3 Template
Aspect Ratio: Widescreen 16:9
Click the green button to download the maps.
Download the 16:9 Template